Hello.

Well, here it goes.

My husband suggested the rather clever idea of creating a blog to help me get through my experience of Childhood neglect. I’ll just post a little bit about myself, I’m 25 years old and living in the UK. I work in a College as a Support Worker. I experienced neglect on both an emotional and physical level from my mother from the age of 8, until my twin and I left at 16 (the first opportunity we had been given to get out).

It is only 9 years after it ended that I’ve even opened up to be husband about the degree of neglect we suffered, I don’t know whether it was a shame issue or whether we massively downplayed what we suffered as those around us did.

I am currently going through counselling which has also in part inspired me to make something to begin the process of healing. I struggled to find specific groups on neglect survivors, and although there is a possibility of sexual abuse ( we’re not sure), I don’t feel it is appropriate to join until we remember more about it, if we ever do that is!

As you might be able to tell, I’m going to keep this anonymous, any names will be different to the reality in order to keep this part of my life safe for now, perhaps one day this will become a resource in my work, perhaps I’ll create a physical group for support, who knows? This feels like the logical first step though.

My next post will most likely be a brief history on the formative years of my twin sister and I.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment